Monday, August 6, 2018

We out here in the PH

these past 5 days have honestly been mushed together so pasensiya (sorry) if my email is everywhere. I am still jet lagged and tired 24/7, but I mean whats new? haha this might be a long one, and google drive is blocked on these computers so sorry because no pics to skip down to instead, this week :/

okayyy so everything that could have gone wrong, went wrong when it came to all 111 missionaries at the airport trying to fly internationally. To be honest I thought it was actually pretty hilarious haha. Half the group had a layover to San Fran and once we got there we legit had no idea where to go to get to the international flights. Just imagine 60ish eighteen and nineteen year olds wandering the airport with a ton of luggage dressed up in church clothes hahaha I was lowkey laughing to myself because everyone was so stressed, but I was just straight chillin. I kept on saying," Wow this is a mad house". Don't worry, after flying for 15 hours, we made it to the philippines and wowzers thats a whole other story. It feels just like Hawaii. I MISS HAWAII SO MUCH. Thats all.

When we got to the Philippines, they took us on this bus to get to the Manila MTC and THE TRAFFIC WAS INSANE. There's no speed limit and the people here are straight savages. They will merge into what should be your lane, but i don't think lanes are a thing here either?? its terrifying. After a good hour or two on the bus we got to the Manila MTC and everyone was so dead from traveling for two days and getting no sleep. The jetlag is insane & hits everyone mostly at night, so we legit look like walking zombies after 7pm. Perro, okay lang. Oh, the MTC here is SOBRANG MABUTI (really really nice). Like, I seriously think it is nicer than the newest part of the Provo MTC. Our rooms are like hotel rooms and the AC is cranked 24/7 everywhere haha. Lavish living I tell ya.

The other day we were able to go proselyting with other missionaries already out in the field. I LOVED IT.  We went on exchanges with one of the sisters and had to go to her area that was a little ways away. We took 3 jeepneys, and a tricee to some place in manila. I felt like I was in a dream hahaha. Those suckers are so small, idk how some of my elders who are over 6'0 are gonna fit in there. 
After an hour and a half of traveling, we made it to the other side of town and were able to teach a lesson about the Book of Mormon to a little family. The sister walked into this alley and I was so confused as to where we were going but we went to this little room under these stairs in the dark, and it was like the bottom of their home. We straight up taught a lesson under a staircase to three little girls and "nanay" (grandma/mom). It was really humbling to see how these people were living, yet they were so loving and welcoming to us. One thing I have already noticed about the filipinos is how selfless and caring they are towards others, when they have nothing. They will literally give you the shirt off their backs for you. 
We started off the lesson with the hymn "Families can be together Forever" and had the three little girls sing with us. The spirit was sooo strong and I could not stop smiling. It hit me that I was going to be able to do this everyday for the next 17 months, and how privileged I was to be apart of this experience. How did I get so lucky to be here at this exact moment, able to feel a glimpse of the love Heavenly Father has for each of his children?? I said a prayer in my heart thanking Him for everything that has brought me to this exact point in my life.
 I definitely do not know any tagalog. Whatsoever. I had no idea what anyone was saying when they spoke. But, being in that lesson hearing the other sister missionary testifying of the truthfulness of the Book of Mormon, you could feel the spirit and ah I wish I could describe it better, I loved it so much. It's so amazing to think that the gospel of Jesus Christ is the same all around the world. I was able to share my favorite scripture (Alma 26:12... check it out ðŸ˜‰) and bear my testimony in taglish, so I mean, little by little I'll get there haha
It started pouring by the time we finished and it got me stoked for the next 17 months being able to trek through this rain lol joke lang. The presidency at the MTC told all of us to not walk through the water because there's rat pee and sewage in it that have killed 10% of filipinos. They ended with "The Philippines is trying to kill you". Me: great

Tomorrow is balut night hahaha rip. If you don't know what that is, look it up and try not to gag :)

I love you all. Count your blessings. Say your prayers. Remember who you are (& as mom would say, don't let that get ya down hahahaha) okay for real choose the right and tell everyone you love them. 

mahal kita

Sister Smooty

No comments:

Post a Comment